It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You will be frequently asked to use peer-reviewed, scholarly/academic articles for your research and paper writing at Washington College.
Peer review means that a board of scholarly reviewers in the subject area of the journal assesses materials they publish. They are looking for quality in the research and adherence to journal standards before articles are accepted for publication.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications they have been vetted by scholars in your field for quality and importance.
Search the EBSCO Discovery Service including databases, and catalog:
The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.
What's an empirical article?
Empirical research articles are research based articles reporting observed and measured phenomena. It's research that derives knowledge from actual experience rather than from theory or belief. Articles reporting on empirical research can be quite long, and almost always contain the following sections:
An introduction and literature review of related research (and a list of references at the end of the article)
A statement of the research question(s) and method used to gather the data
Analysis of the results of the data gathered (this may be quantitative or qualitative)
A discussion or conclusion
A substantial list of the references consulted throughout the article
PsycINFOIt is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PsycARTICLESProvides full text access to articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests In PrintComprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments; designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals; contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within fields as diverse as psychology, education, business, and leadership; entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts; tests in English only.
PubMedComprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.