Miller Library LibGuides: Education & Human Development: Home

Selected Online Journals

Books in the Library Collection

If you would like to browse EDUCATION books, use the chart below to determine the relevant call number section. For more specifics search Miller Library's ONESearch by subject, title or author.

Call # : Subject

D: History (including teaching resources)

GE: Environmental Sciences (including teaching activities)

L: Education

LA: History of Education

LB: Theory and practice of education (including specific content areas)

LC: Special Aspects of Education (for example, pop culture in the classroom)

MT: Music Instruction

PE: English Language (including teaching resources)

PR: English Literature (including teaching resources)

PZ: Juvenile Fiction

Q: Science (including teaching resources)

QA: Mathematics (including teaching resources)

ONESearch

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Selected Online Resources

Newspapers

New York Times, The - (1980-Current) This link opens in a new window
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.

Washington Post (Education Section)

Selected Online Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries, biographies, video, media collection, quotations, and more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
A national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE), covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.