Miller Library LibGuides: Communications & Media Studies: Start Here

CMS Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Baltimore Sun, The (1990-Current, via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
It is the largest general-circulation daily newspaper based in the American state of Maryland and provides coverage of local and regional news, events, issues, people, and industries. Founded in 1837 as The Sun, it is owned by tronc, Inc. (formerly known as Tribune Publishing).
Baltimore Sun, The - (1837-1991, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text of thousands recently-published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
It is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research including resources in: Arts, Biography, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
As a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
This database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. It includes the content of two standard reference indexes Humanities Index (April 1974 - March 1984) and Social Sciences Index (April 1974 - March 1983) as well as their predecessors: the Social Sciences & Humanities Index (April 1965 - March 1974) and International Index (1907 - March 1965).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
New York Times, The - (1851-2013, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times, The - (1980-Current) This link opens in a new window
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Washington College has access to the Basic College Collection titles.
Wall Street Journal, The - (1889-1999, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
WSJ issues from 1889-1999; includes all news articles, illustrations, editorials, and advertising; provides PDF reproductions and ASCII text versions of the original pages; text is fully searchable; full-text.
Wall Street Journal, The - (1984-Current, via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition).
Washington Post, The - (1877-1999, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes all news articles, illustrations, editorials, and advertising from time period; provides PDF reproductions and ASCII text versions of the original pages; text is fully searchable; full-text.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
WorldCat Dissertations This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

ONESearch

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Books in the Main Collection

To browse Communications & Media Studies books, use the list below to find the appropriate call number range. Otherwise, use ONESearch to find books and articles by subject, title and author.

Call # Subject
HE 8689-8700.9 : Radio and Television Broadcasting
HM 1201-1216 : Communication
HM 1221-1226 : Public Relations. Publicity. Propaganda
HN 90 .M3 : Mass Media
P 87-96 : Communication. Mass Media
PN 1990-1992.95 : Broadcasting
PN 1993-1999 : Motion Pictures
PN 4699-5650 : Journalism. The Periodical Press, etc.
TR 820 : Photojournalism
TR 845-899.5 : Cinematography. Motion Pictures. Video Recording 
Z 5630-5635 : Communication. Mass Media. Bibliography