Miller Library LibGuides: Witches, Ghosts, and Vampires: Reference Resources

Online Reference Sources

Print Reference Sources

Folklore : an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art

A Dictionary of superstitions

Websites

Folklore and Mythology, electronic texts

Salem Witch Trials: Documentary Archive and Transcription Project

For Love of Do-Good Vampires: A Bloody Book List

The spirit photographs of William Hope (National Media Museum, Great Britain)

Books

Subject search, uses Library of Congress subject headings, e.g.:

KeyWord search, searches the title, contents, series, etc.:

By adding the * you will find all variations on that term (e.g. witch, witches, witchcraft)

Author search

To find material by the author, just search for them by their last name, first name. Change the field to author.
If you are looking for material about the author rather than material by the author, change the field to subject.

For example: If you change the field to "SUBJECT" and search for "James, Henry," you may find a result like:

Henry James and the Occult

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Washington College has access to the Basic College Collection titles.
New York Times, The - (1851-2013, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text; search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1992; titles from all 50 states; explore America from 18th-20th centuries.