Miller Library LibGuides: English Literature: Scholarship and Criticism

Multidisciplinary Search Engines and Databases

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
OneSearch
Search several library resources at once.
Project MUSE
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Washington College has access to the Basic College Collection titles.

GoogleScholar and Google Books are options but may not offer access (paywalls) and the results are less curated.

Pro Tip: You can add the Miller Library to Google Scholar to see what articles we may have access to through our database subscriptions.
- Tap on the three bars in the top left hand corner
- Choose "Settings"
- Choose "Library Links"
- Search "Washington College" and check the box next to our name
- Click Save
When searching articles that are linked to our library access will show "Washington College" under the file type to the right of the search result.

Literature Criticism Online
It covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Our subscription includes: Contemporary literary criticism 1973-2007 and Shakespearean criticism 1984-2007.
Literature Online (LION)
350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose; 130+ full-text literature journals; other key criticism and reference resources.

Pro Tip: Search LION's (Literature Online) ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) for articles from scholarly journals covering anglophone literary scholarship.
- Access LION through the library website
- Limit your search to "Criticism"
- Limit to "ABELL" in the filters on the left hand side of the page

Medieval Digital Resources
The Medieval Digital Resources website (MDR for short) is a project of the Medieval Academy of America, the largest organization in North America, promoting excellence in the field of medieval studies. The project aims to provide access to websites that contain content of interest to medievalists and meet the Academy’s scholarly and technical standards of web presentation.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.