Miller Library LibGuides: Business Management: Research Sources

Core Academic Journals

Latest Articles from Core Academic Journals

You can find books, articles and video using the ONESearch search box below.

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Business Management Databases

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval)
The Securities and Exchange Commission’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAIT)
Virtual library of reports on information technology (IT); tracks events and trends that are shaping and redefining the computer and communications marketplace; coverage is current; full-text.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Hoover's
This works best using an incognito window. Provides comprehensive company, industry, and market information; in-depth global coverage of 4,000 businesses; coverage is current with up to 10 years of financial data; full-text.
ProQuest National Newspapers Core
Includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Baltimore Sun, (1990-present with some exceptions); The Christian Science Monitor, (1988-present with some exceptions); The New York Times, (1980-present); The Wall Street Journal, (1984-present); and The Washington Post, (1987-present).
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included, some go back to 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
Wall Street Journal, The - (1984-Current, via ProQuest)
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition).

Wall Street Journal - Digital Editions
-Sign up for your individual account
-You will be prompted to sign into the Washington College portal using your email address and password.
-From there you will be directed to the WSJ’s activation page to set up an individual account. (The email and password used does not have to match your WC account.)
Content goes back 4 years.

Your Librarian

Kelly Banyas

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

kbanyas3@washcoll.edu

410-810-5721

Business Media Sources

Recommended for BUS/ECN double-majors

NBER Working Papers
NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world.

Books in the Main Collection

To browse Business books, use the list below to find the appropriate call number range. Otherwise, use ONESearch to find books and articles by subject, title and author.

Call # Subject
HB3711-3840 Business cycles
HD2340.8-2346.5 Small business
HD2709-2930.7 Corporations
HF5001-6182 Business
HF5387-5387.5 Business ethics
HF5410-5417.5 Marketing
HF5717-5734.7 Business communication
HF5801-6182 Advertising
HG1-9999 Finance