Miller Library LibGuides: Music (General), Historical Musicology, and Ethnomusicology: Doing Research

Music Databases

DIAMM: The Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
"a leading source for the study of medieval manuscripts" --from their website
more...less...
Thousands of high-quality images and metadata of early music from the University of Oxford, UK. Register for a free account.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Articles from specialist dictionaries such as The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed., are available via OMO.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
"indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals."
JSTOR
"page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication"

National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The complete archive of National geographic magazine from 1888 - 1994. Includes every page and every photograph.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
for music iconography

Project MUSE
"Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences."

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
WorldCat Dissertations This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

How to Search for Print Books in Miller Library

Subject search suggestions. Start here and skim the headings
Author Search: e.g., mozart, wolfgang amadeus

ONESearch

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Online Resources

ACLS Humanities E-Book: the online collection developed by scholars
AnthroSource: Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
ARTstor: image library covering art, architecture, archeology, music iconography and more dating from 3000 BC to the present
Britannica Academic : Encyclopedia entries, biographies, video, media collection, quotations, and more.
Choice Reviews :premier source for reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education.
Credo Reference : reference library that provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books on many topics, including music
eHRAF Archaeology: cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. This annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
eHRAF World Cultures: collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents.
FirstSearch: access to a collection of general and specialized databases covering a wide range of subject areas. Features links to abstracts, articles, indexes, reviews, and full text of works such as dissertations, journals, reports, and conference proceedings and papers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library : encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance : Literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (1400-1700); books, journal articles, reviews, essays, proceedings; 1,000+ journals indexed; coverage from 1842+; citation-only. Includes: Iter Italicum, Iter Bibliography, Milton: A Bibliography, Bibliography of English Women Writers, Renaissance and Reformation, and Early Theatre.
SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Music and Culture presents key concepts in the study of music in its cultural context and provides an introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world's musical cultures, styles, and practices.