Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU 354 / ENG 342: Children's and Young Adult Literature: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to WAC's research guide for children's and young adult (YA) literature! Here you will find resources and information on awards given in the fields of children's and YA literature, and on professional organizations for children's and YA creators. Resources are also provided for accessing children's and YA literature online.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete

  • A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

  • A national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

JSTOR 

  • Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.

Literature Online (LION)

  • 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose; 130+ full-text literature journals; other key criticism and reference resources.

MLA International Bibliography

  • Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Project MUSE

  • Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

ONESearch

ONESearch

   

   More Information

 

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Books in the Library Collection

Explore the Miller Library shelves for education-related books in our collection. Here are some call numbers that may pertain to your course that you could browse:

CT: Biography (Includes General Collective Biography, National Biography, and Biography of Women; for biography associated with a particular subject, see the actual subject heading)

PN: Literature - General
PN1010-1525 Poetry
PN1600-3307 Drama
PN3311-3503 Prose
PN4001-4355 Oratory
PN4390-4500 Diaries, Letters, Essays

PZ Juvenile Fiction

Ask Your Librarian

Help!

Need help? Use our Ask a Librarian form, or contact librarian Amanda Darby by email. You can also use our FYS Research Guide if you need to brush up on your research skills.