Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Capstone Experience: Home: Find Resources, Books and Articles

Make an Appointment with a Librarian

WorldCat Databases

Having trouble finding sources on your topic? WorldCat allows you to search the collections of over 72,000 libraries from around the world. 

Data Sources

General/Academic: 

100+ of the Best Free Data Sources, a list from Column Five Media that includes links to statistics on marketing, crime, drugs, education, entertainment, the environment, government data, economics, health, and world governments 

Pew Research Center

Government/World: 

United Nations Data 

UNICEF, data on the global conditions of women and children 

United States Census Bureau

Data.gov, open data from the U.S. Government 

CIA World Fact Book 

Economic: 

World Bank Open Data

International Monetary Fund Data 

Environment and Weather: 

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 

 

Additional Resources

Newspapers and News Resources Research Guide: provides links to local, national, international and historic news resources 

Government Documents Research Guide

 

Video Tour to Using This Guide

ONESearch

ONESearch

   

   More Information

 

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Set Up an Alert

Setting up news alerts is easy and can be done several different ways. Below are a few examples. Want to set up an alert on your SCE topic? Ask a librarian for help

  1. LexisNexis Academic (Nexis Uni): LexisNexis allows you to set up email alerts on national and international news, legal cases, and regulations. Access LexisNexis from our database guide. Once you are in the database, you will need to register as a user with your email address. You can then set up alerts tailored to your research needs. 
  2. Google Scholar: From the Google Scholar homepage do a search on your topic. On the left-hand side of the screen you will see a "create alert" option. Click that and enter in your information. 
  3. Google News:  In Google conduct a search on your topic and select the news option. Scroll to the bottom of the results page and click on "create alert." 

Databases

Miller Library subscribes to over 100 databases. These databases include scholarly publications, books, periodicals, conference proceedings, video and audio recordings, images and many other resources. Use our A-Z Databases guide to find databases that are relevant to your SCE. 

A-Z Databases Guide

Below are some of our most popular databases: 

Research Guides

Miller Library Research Guides provide useful resources on a variety of topics. 

Miller Library Research Guides (LibGuides) 

Interlibrary Loan

Fill out an online request.

OR click ‘Request this item through interlibrary loan’ on your ONESearch results

For more details visit the library's webpage.

OTHER TIPS

Use your favorite search engine to look up subject guides created by other college and university librarians:

  • Type "libguide" along with your topic of interest into the search box
    • Here are two examples: libguide capstone OR libguide food lab
  • Note: the guide is free but access to some of the institution's resources, like their databases will not be accessible

STILL STUMPED?

Find a book on the Shelf

To find a book on the shelf in the Miller Library you need to know the book's call number -- a book's unique identification code. The Miller Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LOC) system. Visit the Library of Congress Classification website to learn more. Once you know the letters that denote your specific topic you can explore Miller Library's shelves for relevant books.