Aaron Shepard's World of Stories
- Offers retellings of folktales, fairy tales, tall tales, myths, legends, magical tales, and sacred stories.
American Literature
- Classic stories for children.
Archive.org Children's Library
- This database hosted by the Internet Archive contains books for children from around the world. A free account is required to access some titles.
Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature
- This database contains historical and archival children's literature, including manuscripts and images of older editions.
BookBub
- Requires a free user account to access. A large site that offers free downloadable ebooks, including children's and young adult titles.
Big Universe
- This collection contains fiction and nonfiction for elementary- and middle-school students.
Children's Books Online: the Rosetta Project
- A collection of illustrated antique books.
Children's Picture Book Database
- Miami University offers this database of over 5,000 picture books: "a place for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects."
Discovering Children's Books (British Library)
- Collection devoted to historic children’s literature from medieval fables to contemporary picture books. Highlights include original manuscripts, artworks, poems, interviews, drafts and notebooks by renowned authors and illustrators.
FreeBooksy
- A commercial site that offers a new free ebook each day. Browse by categories Children's or Young Adult.
Gateway to the Classics
- Online collection of classic literature for children and young adults. Contains books from the Baldwin Online Children's Project, a comprehensive collection of public domain children's literature, including works published before 1923.
International Children's Digital Library
- Requires users to create an account. Collections include titles in multiple languages.
Khan Academy Kids
- A fun app for kids ages 2-7 with games, books, and other fun activities designed to help develop core concepts in math, reading, writing, and more.
Open Library
- Access is free, but does require users to create an account. This database contains children's and young adult books, among other categories.
Project Gutenberg
- A database with free ebooks in several languages, including for children and young adults.
SurLaLune Fairy Tales
- Many annotated fairy tales, including information about their histories, similarities with various tales, bibliographies and other tidbits.
