THE 101: Drama, Stage, and Society: Resources on the Open Web

Please note that the Internet Archive requires users to create a free account to check out some eBook titles.

• The Elizabethan Stage, Volume I (Chambers)
• The Elizabethan Stage, Volume II (Chambers)
• The Elizabethan Stage, Volume III (Chambers)
• The Elizabethan Stage, Volume IV (Chambers)
• Interpreting Ladies: Women, Wit, and Morality in the Restoration Comedy of Manners (Gill)
• Playgoing in Shakespeare's London (Gurr)
• Rebuilding Shakespeare's Globe (Gurr)
• The Shakespearean Stage, 1574-1642 (Gurr)
• Intruders in the Play World: The Dynamics of Gender in Moliere's Comedies (Lalande)
• Architecture, Actor, and Audience (Mackintosh)
• Theater, the Search for Style (Mitchell)
• Ze-Ami and His Theories of Noh Drama (Sekine)
• The Perception of Women in Spanish Theatre of the Golden Age (Stoll & Smith, eds.)
• Theatres: An Architectural and Cultural History (Tidworth)

• Didaskalia: the Journal of Ancient Drama
  • Free online publication about Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today (1994 - 2006).
• Elizabethan Costume Page
  • Extensive resources on Elizabethan-era costumes and more, including photographs of reproductions
• Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Collection
  • Offers access to tens of thousands of high resolution images from the Folger Shakespeare Library, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art.
• Harvard Digital Collections
  • Contains descriptive records and images representing paintings, sculpture, photography, drawings, prints, architecture, decorative arts, trade cards, rubbings, theater designs, maps and plans from visual collections at Harvard.
• Internet Archive
  • Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. It's a great resource for finding photographs, videos, multimedia, and more.
• Internet Shakespeare Editions
  • Scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare's life and works, and records of his plays in performance.
• Invitation to Nohgaku
  • This site, hosted by the Japan Arts Council, holds historical and current information about multiple types of traditional Japanese theater. Materials include information about history, performance techniques, masks, costumes, character tropes, and more.
• Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
  • Valuable resource for history of theatre and costume design. Materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
• Records of Early English Drama (REED)
  • A collection of links for Medieval and Early Modern theatre, Shakespeare, play texts, and more.
• Visual Arts Data Service
  • Over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK.