Miller Library LibGuides: Capstone Experience: Home: Find Resources, Books and Articles

WorldCat Databases

Having trouble finding sources on your topic? WorldCat allows you to search the collections of over 72,000 libraries from around the world.

WorldCat
"... union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind."
WorldCat Dissertations
"...access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution."

Data Sources

General/Academic:

100+ of the Best Free Data Sources, a list from Column Five Media that includes links to statistics on marketing, crime, drugs, education, entertainment, the environment, government data, economics, health, and world governments

Pew Research Center

Government/World:

United Nations Data

UNICEF, data on the global conditions of women and children

United States Census Bureau

Data.gov, open data from the U.S. Government

CIA World Fact Book

Economic:

World Bank Open Data

International Monetary Fund Data

Environment and Weather:

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Additional Resources

Newspapers and News Resources Research Guide: provides links to local, national, international and historic news resources

Government Documents Research Guide

Video Tour to Using This Guide

ONESearch

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Set Up an Alert

Setting up news alerts is easy and can be done several different ways. Below are a few examples. Want to set up an alert on your SCE topic? Ask a librarian for help.

Google Scholar: From the Google Scholar homepage do a search on your topic. On the left-hand side of the screen you will see a "create alert" option. Click that and enter in your information.
Google News: In Google conduct a search on your topic and select the news option. Scroll to the bottom of the results page and click on "create alert."

Databases

Miller Library subscribes to over 100 databases. These databases include scholarly publications, books, periodicals, conference proceedings, video and audio recordings, images and many other resources. Use our A-Z Databases guide to find databases that are relevant to your SCE.

A-Z Databases Guide

Below are some of our most popular databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Washington College has access to the Basic College Collection titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
It is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Research Guides

Miller Library Research Guides provide useful resources on a variety of topics.

Miller Library Research Guides (LibGuides)

Interlibrary Loan

Fill out an online request.

OR click ‘Request this item through interlibrary loan’ on your ONESearch results

For more details visit the library's webpage.

OTHER TIPS

Use your favorite search engine to look up subject guides created by other college and university librarians:

Type "libguide" along with your topic of interest into the search box
- Here are two examples: libguide capstone OR libguide food lab
Note: the guide is free but access to some of the institution's resources, like their databases will not be accessible

STILL STUMPED?

Millionshort Search Engine: What haven't you found?
Find obscure not popular web pages.
more...less...
"Million Short makes it easy to discover sites that just don't make it to the top of the search engine results for whatever reason – whether it be poor SEO, new site, small marketing budget, or competitive keywords." - their website

Find a book on the Shelf

To find a book on the shelf in the Miller Library you need to know the book's call number -- a book's unique identification code. The Miller Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LOC) system. Visit the Library of Congress Classification website to learn more. Once you know the letters that denote your specific topic you can explore Miller Library's shelves for relevant books.

Capstone Experience: Home: Find Resources, Books and Articles

Make an Appointment with a Librarian