Miller Library LibGuides: Newspapers and News Resources: Home

Current Digital Subscriptions

The New York Times
Whether you’re writing a paper or planning for the weekend ahead, discover original, quality journalism that helps you understand the world — and make the most of every part of life.
You now have access to The New York Times, compliments of Washington College.
Seek the truth. Find new perspectives. Inform your conversations on nearly every topic.
more...less...
Sign up for an account:
Step 1: Navigate to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and select "Washington College”
You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete the fields; you must use your washcoll.edu email
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email) *
* The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration.
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal was founded in July 1889. Ever since, the Journal has led the way in chronicling the rise of industries in America and around the world. In no other period of human history has the planet witnessed changes so dramatic or swift. The Journal has covered the births and deaths of tens of thousands of companies; the creation of new industries such as autos, aerospace, oil and entertainment; two world wars and numerous other conflicts; profound advances in science and technology; revolutionary social movements; the rise of consumer economies in the U.S. and abroad; and the fitful march of globalization.
more...less...
-Sign up for your individual account
-You will be prompted to sign into the Washington College portal using your email address and password.
-From there you will be directed to the WSJ’s activation page to set up an individual account. (The email and password used does not have to match your WC account.)
Content goes back 4 years.
The Washington Post
Democracy Dies in Darkness

Below are the steps that should be taken to activate individual subscription access:

1. Visit https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup to sign-up with your washcoll.edu email address
2. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner
3. Click My Post then click Manage Account.
4. Make sure your email address is Verified, if not, click "Send verification email". If your email address is verified, you will not see this prompt.
5. Once verified, click over to the Subscription & Billing tab in My Post.
6. Click Activate free digital access

Recommended News Sources

Sources listed below are .

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Covers life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, Jim Crow era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment, and more; 270+ African American newspapers from 35 states.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text; search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1992; titles from all 50 states; explore America from 18th-20th centuries.
Christian Science Monitor, The (1988-Current, via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Christian Science Monitor is an independent international news organization that delivers global coverage.
Historic Newspapers (from Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 2000), The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2001)
New York Times, The - (1851-2013, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times, The - (1980-Current) This link opens in a new window
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
ProQuest National Newspapers Core This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Baltimore Sun, (1990-present with some exceptions); The Christian Science Monitor, (1988-present with some exceptions); The New York Times, (1980-present); The Wall Street Journal, (1984-present); and The Washington Post, (1987-present).
Wall Street Journal, The - (1889-1999, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
WSJ issues from 1889-1999; includes all news articles, illustrations, editorials, and advertising; provides PDF reproductions and ASCII text versions of the original pages; text is fully searchable; full-text.
Wall Street Journal, The - (1984-Current, via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition).
Washington Post, The - (1877-1999, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes all news articles, illustrations, editorials, and advertising from time period; provides PDF reproductions and ASCII text versions of the original pages; text is fully searchable; full-text.
Washington Post, The - (1987-Current, via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post, includes current edition.

Selected National Links

(*Note: today's issues only, unless otherwise noted)

The Baltimore Sun (1990-Current) | The Baltimore Sun
Chicago Tribune
The Christian Science Monitor (1988-Current) | The Christian Science Monitor
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Houston Chronicle
Los Angeles Times
The New York Times | The New York Times (1980-Current) | The New York Times
San Francisco Chronicle
The Seattle Times
Today's Front Pages (Newseum)
USA Today
The Wall Street Journal (1984-Current) | The Wall Street Journal
The Washington Post (1987-Current) | The Washington Post

Local News

The Elm (Washington College)
Cecil Whig (Cecil County)
Chestertown Spy (Kent County)
Kent County News (Kent County) Miller Library Holdings (Miller Library does not have access to the online version)
Star Democrat (Easton)

Historical Newspapers

Chestertown Transcript MD State Archives online: 1866-1946 | Miller Library Holdings
Kent News MD State Archives online: 1840-1934 | Miller Library Holdings
Maryland State Archives
Related: Government Documents

Newspapers and News Resources: Home

Current Digital Subscriptions

Recommended News Sources

Selected National Links

Local News

Selected International Links

East Coast News