Home - GRW 101 | The Business of Organized Crime | Fall 2015 - Miller Library LibGuides at Washington College

The Business of Organized Crime

Welcome to the Library Course Guide for GRW 101-18: The Business of Organized Crime

Professor Michael Harvey

TTH 01:30 p.m. - 02:20 p.m.

* Image taken from The Godfather. Learn more from the IMDB database here.

Books in the Main Collection

Each book in the library has a Library of Congress call number and these help group books together in common subject areas. These numbers have several sections, so finding a book involves reading each part in the correct order.

H Social Sciences

HA Statistics

HB-HJ Econ, Bus, & Fin

HM-HX Sociology

J Political Science

JK United States

JX International Law

Miller Library ONESearch

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Newspapers

ProQuest National Newspapers Core This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Baltimore Sun, (1990-present with some exceptions); The Christian Science Monitor, (1988-present with some exceptions); The New York Times, (1980-present); The Wall Street Journal, (1984-present); and The Washington Post, (1987-present).

eBooks

An Economic History of Organized Crime by Dennis M. P. McCarthy
ISBN: 9780415487962
Publication Date: 2011-06-23

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Select from a variety of eBooks in this collection owned by Miller Library.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Professional index for US and Canadian history; historical coverage of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present; indexes 2,000+ scholarly journalsabstracts; some links to full-text; coverage from 1954+
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
It is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.