Skip to main content
Banner Image

Do Research: Starting Your Research

Starting Your Research

Miller Library ONESearch

Search the EBSCO Discovery Service including databases, and catalog:



         

This tab searches articles only in EDS:



    

Search Library Catalog:




Search for Titles:

Find:
         To find variants of a word, truncate using an *

What's This?

Miller Library's Discovery Tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by Miller Library.

Miller Library Traditional Catalog

Explore the Collection

Books

Find Books

Miller library circulates around 175,000 books which can be found on all three levels of the library.  You'll find call numbers A-N on the second floor and call numbers P-Z on the ground floor. You can search by using the box below or click here.

 

** Find our up-t0-the-minute books and resources with the "traditional" search above.

WorldCat Local & Google Books

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Additional Resources

Enjoy some of our latest additions

Databases

Miller Library ONESearch

Search the EBSCO Discovery Service including databases, and catalog:



         

This tab searches articles only in EDS:



    

Search Library Catalog:




Search for Titles:

Find:
         To find variants of a word, truncate using an *

What's This?

Miller Library's Discovery Tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by Miller Library.

Search by Database Title or Database Subject

Newspapers

Recommended News Sources

Selected National Links

Selected International Links

Senior Theses

Senior Theses Information

Current Academic Practice

All seniors submit electronic copies of their Senior Capstone Experiences (SCE) to the library.  The library provides the Washington College community  - and only the WC community - with electronic access to these copies.

For more information on submitting your theses, or if you have questions, please contact Librarian Jeff Chaffin at jchaffin2@washcoll.edu.

Theses Collection

All SCEs from 1992-2006 are available from the circulation desk on microform. You can view the listing here.

The SCEs from 2007-2011 are available on D-Space, login is required to view documents.

Streaming Media

Enjoy Streaming Music

Explore Music Collections

Digital Collections

Washington College Digital Collections

Browse Washington College's Pegasus Yearbook or The Elm student newspaper. You can also search D-Space, our digital respository where you'll find past student theses. If you have questions or trouble using the collections, contact Director of Access Services Librarian, Amanda Kramer, at akramer2@washcoll.edu.

 

Pegasus Yearbook

Senior Theses on D-Space

Washington Elm Archive

Government Documents

Federal Depository @ Miller Library

International Links

Explore Reference Resources

Using Online Reference Resources

Use the drop-down box under "Explore Reference Resources" to find online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and websites to help you  expand the research work you may be doing on class homework and writing assignments.

If you need assistance using these resources simply contact our reference librarians throught Ask A Librarian!

Multidisciplinary Reference Resources

A-Z Database List

Encyclopedia Resources

Anthropology & Sociology

History

Law

Literature

Maps & Illustrations

Try these online Map & Illustration resources

Mathematics

Medicine

Military History

Music

Mythology & Folklore

Political Science & International Studies

Race & Ethnicity

Names & Places

Philosophy & Religion

Physics

Psychology

Quotations & Speeches

Explore Citation Styles

Online Citation Assistance

You did all the work, now make sure you cite everything correctly! Check out these sites below to help you format everything correctly:


Hacker Online

  • Citation Examples for MLA, APA, Chicago & CSE

OWL at Purdue

  • Purdue's writing center will help you cite APA, MLA & Chicago styles

KnightCite

  • Citation help for APA, Chicago & MLA on a variety of sources

Longwood U's Citation Guide

  • Find help on APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, ASA, Legal/Government citations, Business citations & more

Zotero

  • This Firefox add-on allows you to collect, manage, cite and share you resources right in your browser

Why is it important to cite your work?

Citation Resources to Check Out

Citation Books

Use RefWorks

Start using RefWorks today

Refworks

Using RefWorks

Contact Michele for help!

Amanda Kramer
Contact:
410-810-5721
Subjects:Anthropology

Ask a Librarian

Get Help @ Miller Library!

Need help on research, citations, or recommendations for some good books to read?  We've got you covered.

Use our Ask a Librarian form. Go online, fill in your information, ask your question, or book an appointment with librarians Michele Santamaria and Amanda Kramer.

If you prefer on-the-spot assistance, visit our Research Services Desk during the following times:


Mondays:  10 a.m. to 4 p.m., 6 to 9 p.m.

Tuesdays: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., 6 to 9 p.m.

Wednesdays: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., 6 to 9 p.m.

Thursdays: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Fridays: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Sundays: 2 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Ask a Librarian