Miller Library LibGuides: ENG/AMS 370: The Harlem Renaissance: Article Databases & Citation Guidance

ONESearch

What's This?

The library's discovery tool gives you the chance to search books and online resources at the same time. You can immediately limit your search results by selecting "Full Text" or "Peer Reviewed." Or, by selecting "Catalog Only," you are limiting your search to only those materials owned by the library.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Washington College has access to the Basic College Collection titles.

Online Citation Assistance

You did all the work, now make sure you cite everything correctly! Check out these sites below to help you format everything correctly:

American Chemical Society (ACS) Style Quick Guide

From the American Chemical Society Guide to Scholarly Communication

Council of Science Editors (CSE) Documentation Style

From the University of Wisconsin - Madison writing center

KnightCite

Citation help for APA, Chicago & MLA on a variety of sources

OWL at Purdue

Purdue's writing center will help you cite APA, MLA & Chicago styles

Mendeley
A free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
Zotero
A free reference manager and academic social network to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources with a single click in your web browser.

Citation Resources to Check Out

APA style guide to electronic references
Adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style.

Chicago Manual of Style Online, The This link opens in a new window
Provides quick answers to style and editing questions. The Q & A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. It also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.